Formed in 1977, Yarra is the amalgamation of two long-standing clubs: the Fairfield Hockey Club (est. 1906) and the Ivanhoe Hockey Club (est. 1930) and has grown to become one of the largest and most successful hockey clubs in Victoria.

The club draws players from the local council areas along the Yarra River – Banyule, Darebin, Yarra and Nillumbik. Our home (“The Dam”) is set on the banks of the Darebin Creek and bounded by cycling paths and bushland. The clubhouse is a popular meeting place for members and hosts regular social events and functions throughout the year. 

We pride ourselves on a history of inclusivity and diversity welcoming players from all backgrounds, genders and skill levels. 

Our large synthetic turf field provides a safe and enjoyable playing environment for all players and we are currently in discussions with Banyule council about the expansion of a second playing field to support the growing demand across Juniors, Senior and Masters competitions.

The Club has around 400 members and a Coterie group of around 35 supporters. Our Womens teams are in Vic League 1 and our Mens in Vic League 2 and we expect to have around 14 junior teams (under 10s through to under 18s) in 2024 which are well attended by families. 

As such we typically have over 250 supporters from our club and visiting teams attending home matches over a weekend.