Fairfield Hockey Team. Winners of the A section
Punch (Melbourne, Vic 1900 - 1918) Thursday 14 October 1909 p18 National Library of Australia


Yarra Hockey Club has a history that stands tall.

Established in 1977, Yarra Valley Hockey Club was the amalgamation of two long-standing clubs: the Fairfield Hockey Club, established over a century ago in 1906, and the Ivanhoe Hockey Club, established in 1930.

In 1956, Australia’s inaugural Summer Olympic Hockey Team consisted of two players from the Ivanhoe Club. Against a home crowd in Melbourne, Ken Clarke, as captain, played alongside his teammate Geoff Bennett, and against fierce competition they took the Olympic team to a placing of 5th.

The club, which draws players from the local council areas along the general inner Yarra river areas – Banyule, Darebin, Yarra and Nillumbik councils – operates from the club facility at the Cyril Cummins Reserve. Set on the banks of the Darebin Creek, the grounds are bounded by cycling paths and beautiful bushland.

Yarra is still the only modern club to achieve the SL1 premiership in the year following promotion from SL2, with the SL1 team claiming victory in 1973.

The club’s identity was simplified from Yarra Valley Hockey Club to Yarra Hockey Club in 2023.

The history of Ivanhoe Hockey Club is encapsulated in the book Mad For The Hockey – The History of Ivanhoe Hockey Club.

Our hockey coifs face tough trial By HAROLD BALFE Victoria's hockey colts face a thorough trial by a powerful State team at Fairfield on Sunday. Youth-the colts are all 21 or under-will be countered by experience and all-round ability. In the State team are Alan Hardham (East Malvern). Geoff Bennett (Ivanhoe). Jock Horman (Cam berwell), Ray Whiteside (Hawthorn).. Ken Clarke (Ivanhoe), Ben Acton (Footscray), Ken Hearse (M.H.S.O.B.), Ian Phipps (Elsternwick), Mike Craig (Camberwell), G. Stainton (Elsternwick), and Inder Singh (M.H.S.O.B.). Whiteside and Acton have represented Australia; Stainton is a former New Zealander; Inder Singh learnt his hockey in India; and several of the others have played for Victoria. The match begins at 2.45p.m. State Colts, who leave for the interstate carnival in Hobart next week, will find Sunday's match a useful work-out. Games, with probable winners in capitals are: CAMBERWELL v. Ivanhoe ELSTERNWICK (third) v. Melbourne High School Old Boys (fifth) Footscray (seventh) v. ESSENDON (fourth) East Malvern (ninth) v. UNIVERSITY (sixth) Old Scotch (eighth) has the bye.
Argus (Melbourne, Vic 1848 - 1957) Thursday 12 July 1956 p21 National Library of Australia